Q Menu
< Treforest Conference Facilities

Controlled Assessment

Controlled assessment has replaced coursework for GCSEs with internal assessment; it accounts for 25% or 60% of the qualification.

Controlled assessment is a form of internal assessment which includes control levels at three points:

  • task setting
  • task taking
  • task marking

The levels of control have been defined by the regulators for all awarding bodies.

Teachers will need to look carefully at the relevant specifications to ensure that they are fully aware of each aspect of the controls described.

A summary of all details linked to WJEC GCSE subjects is available via this link.

General administrative procedures relevant to controlled assessment within GCSE specifications and Principal Learning units are outlined in the JCQ booklet entitled Instructions for conducting non-examination assessments 2018-2019.

Frequently asked questions

Further details have been provided by Ofqual and the Welsh Government.

For administrative queries about controlled assessment contact:

Telephone: 029 2026 5040
E-mail: gcse@wjec.co.uk